the Free Hypnosis Social Network
I came to Hypnothughts and got an add to fill out a survery, thought it was legit from Scott S. It said I qualififed for an Ipad after filling out the survery, then wanted my cell # and to charge me $10 bucks a month for ringtones..Grrrrr.........
Tags:
Permalink Reply by Richard Nongard - NLPBoard.com on September 21, 2011 at 5:24pm
Permalink Reply by Kacey on September 21, 2011 at 6:05pm
Permalink Reply by Scott Sandland on September 22, 2011 at 11:58am Hi Carol-
That definitely wasn't from me, I'm sorry it happened. I think Richard is right, that sounds like malware. I'd use the software Kacey recommended as well as Ad-aware by Lava Soft (also free). both in combination are great for cleaning up a computer.
Good luck getting that resolved,
Scott
Permalink Reply by Carol Sanders on September 24, 2011 at 8:37pm Thank you all, I will get to cleaning the pc now !
Permalink Reply by Sheila M. Street on September 26, 2011 at 12:36pm I've had a few strange emails come in from Hypnothoughts - Saturday and then again today. I deleted Saturday's quickly after I inadvertently opened it, and ran computer scans to ensure I hadn't been infected with anything. But then I got a different one today, and I haven't opened it, but just looked at the full headers - appears to be legitimate, but the message subject line reads "High paying jobs are out there, why not search our data-base below - National Guild of Hypnotists" which I find incredibly off-key to anything Hypnothoughts would send out, so I'm NOT opening it, and it is going into my spam bucket without being opened. I've posted this here just in case anyone else get's something like this, because I don't think it's legit.
What I'm really trying to figure out, though, is how they got my email address and my name to send to me (my email address has nothing to do with my name), and yet nothing appears in my HypnoThoughts email inbox here, which I would think would be the way you'd communicate with me. Is it possible someone hacked the email data-base here? I am going to hang onto the unopened email and if you want me to forward it to you to examine, I'd be happy to ship it to you. The "full-headers" shows it coming from "mail at hypnothoughts dot com", return path "hypnosis at ning dot com", and the Reply to: as do-not-reply at hypnothoughts.com. It also provides a numbered "######ops dot ning dot com" code something in all of that "header" stuff.
So, Scott, please just let me know what you'd prefer me to do - just delete it or proceed further. If, on the other hand, the email was legit, just please delete this post and let me know that, too.
Thanks,
Sheila
Permalink Reply by Scott Sandland on September 26, 2011 at 12:41pm This should answer your question here:
http://www.hypnothoughts.com/forum/topics/why-am-i-getting-spammed-...
Basically we have a rare spammer make it through our screening process and then they send you messages. As soon as we are notified about it, we ban the member responsible.
When you get something like that, please just delete it and let us know about it. They aren't trying to harm your computer, they are advertising their services.
-Scott
Permalink Reply by Sheila M. Street on September 26, 2011 at 12:48pm Thanks Scott, for the quick reply. The message was send earlier today, so yeah, you probably booted them by the time I got to it.
Sheila
Permalink Reply by Karen on September 26, 2011 at 1:22pm Sheila.....I got the same thing on Saturday...(8 in all)...they look like they were from hypnothoughts. But when I noticed it said free Ipad 2, I knew it was not Scott. Each one would have a headline that said Free Ipad 2 and then something to do with hypnosis ( ex.it would be one of the different groups, new hypnotist, or something similar ). This is the second time I got it, but stupid spammers always find a way to get you. Scott, I know you are no way responsible for these.
Karen
Michael Ellner commented on Talmadge Harper's blog post Ultra Depth Process: Free Mp3 to Hypnothoughts members only
Gabrielle Guichard replied to Gabrielle Guichard's discussion Induction for analytic person only?
Juno C posted a status
Talmadge Harper commented on Talmadge Harper's blog post Ultra Depth Process: Free Mp3 to Hypnothoughts members only
Roger Moore posted a status
matthew povey replied to Richard Nongard - NLPBoard.com's discussion Contextual Hypnotherapy© 2012 Created by Scott Sandland.